Raising Spiritual Kids

I recently read an article called “What Yoga Taught Me About Raising Spiritual Kids” by Mary Rekosh on Elephant Journal. I loved the humor of the Mary’s writing.

In the article the author Mary writes about having not practicing a particular organized religion, her husband and herself found that they believed that there is a higher power, but they weren’t willing to attempt to put the higher power in a labeled category, such as female/male, bearded/not bearded, etc. I loved this because nobody fits in a neat little categorized space, everyone is different, why would be expect God, or our higher power, to be so easily categorized? I love even more, their acceptance for others, this is what I push more than anything with my girls. Is to accept and love ALL. All means no one left out . Here’s a quote from the article “… it’s hard for us to believe that there could be one correct path to knowing It, or one accurate story behind It. Wouldn’t that one right imply so many wrongs? Surely, His Awesome Beardedness would not make Himself available to only a select few with the most accurate tracking system.” I couldn’t agree more!

I think I especially enjoyed the article is because I have been having the same concerns and wonders about teaching my children spirituality and religion. My daughters will be 3 and 4 years old this summer and I am still searching for the answers myself, so how can I show them the way? Then again, isn’t that part of the deal.. always searching for the truth, exploring and reaffirming, or changing, our beliefs? So I guess that makes me on my journey, with my girls, to find OUR truth.

Make sure you Mary’s article, What Yoga Taught Me About Raising Spiritual Kids. ~ Mary Rekosh, she’s much more witty than I am and I’m sure you will enjoy reading her thoughts! Thanks for reading!

*Post edited on July 8 because I had originally posted some negative memories in this post. Then, I didn’t come back to blog because I felt the blog was too negative. :) So I made it happy again, and I’m back to blogging!

-Lots of Love To All-

Christina

 

Leave a Reply

